Updated with video: Azarenka curses lineswoman

Updated with video: Azarenka curses lineswoman

275

The world ranked #3 player ran out of challenges during her third round match against Mona Barthel.  On match point Barthel hit a forehand wide and Azarenka argued to the chair umpire, who allowed the original call to stand.  Replays showed that the ball was clearly out.

Azarenka walked back to baseline, barking at the lineswoman as she prepared to serve.

Azarenka went on to win the point at deuce and then the point after that to seal a 6-2, 6-4 win.

Azarenka was still fuming after winning the match and continued to berate the lines-woman with expletives.   One of the expletives rhymed with “witch.”  Still not done, Azarenka then took the ball from the side of her shorts and tossed it in disgust towards the official.

Azarenka made no apologies for her behavior after the match.

Again, if this had been Serena we would still be seeing this replay on every station with unneeded commentary.  Maybe it’s because she is not an “American” that this behavior is not worthy of a Serena type media blitz?